Septimus Heap Book Two: Flyte by Angie Sage

Septimus Heap Book Two: Flyte by Angie Sage 150 150 Reader Views Kids

Septimus Heap Book Two: Flyte
Angie Sage
Katherine Tegen Books (2006)
ISBN 9780060577346
Reviewed by Neha Kashmiri (age 14) for Reader Views (10/08)


“Flyte” is the second book in the Septimus Heap series; “Magykal” was the first.  It has been about a year since Boy 412 has found out that he is really Septimus Heap, the seventh son of the seventh son, Silas Heap.  He is now apprenticed under Marcia Overstrand, the ExtraOrdinary Wizard.  Meanwhile, Jenna is trying to adjust to life as the Princess.

Simon Heap, the oldest of the Heaps, is not happy that a strange boy, claiming to be his brother, has taken his supposed place as the ExtraOrdinary Wizards’s apprentice.  At first he runs away but then returns and kidnaps Jenna.  He takes her to the Observatory and holds her captive there.

No one believes Septimus when he tells everyone what Simon did — except for Septimus’ friend Beetle who works at the Manuscriptorium.  They set out trying to save Jenna.

However, Jenna has already escaped the Observatory.  Eventually, Septimus is able to rescue Jenna with the help of his next-oldest brother Nicko, who works at the Port.  But what they don’t know is that Simon has sent his tracking ball, Sleuth, after them.

They retrieve the Dragon Boat from Aunt Zelda’s to use to fly home to the Castle.  But surprisingly they are met in the sky by Simon, who has the Flyte charm.  Can they get away from Septimus’ vengeful brother?

“Flyte” by Angie Sage is full of characters old and new, all with their own quirky traits. Unlike the first book, it’s surprising and the villain this time (Simon) doesn’t give up as easy.  The Septimus Heap books are definitely ones to follow.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.