Seekers #3: Smoke Mountain by Erin Hunter

Seekers #3: Smoke Mountain by Erin Hunter 150 150 Reader Views Kids

Seekers #3: Smoke Mountain
Erin Hunter
HarperTrophy (2009)
ISBN 9780060871284
Reviewed by Ben Weldon (age 11) for Reader Views (7/09)


“Seekers #3: SmokeMountain” by Erin Hunter is the adventurous story of four bears: Kallik, a polar bear; Lusa, a black bear; Toklo, a grizzly; and Ujurak, a shape shifting black bear cub.  All four of them have been separated from their families even though they are still just cubs.  While they are stranded in a cold unfamiliar place, the fight for survival takes place all the time.  Will the bears be able to survive in this harsh wilderness?

On their way to the Last Great Wilderness, the four friends must pass many dangers.  These include flat-face hunters, strange looking firebeasts (cars), and last but not least SmokeMountain.  On their journey, they find an old bear who tells them a safer path that avoids the treacherous SmokeMountain.  But when they are swept off course during the swim across the great river, they are stranded on SmokeMountain.  Can they survive the dangers?  Will they finally reach the Last Great Wilderness and safety?

There is a cool Seekers website that has all sorts of information on the characters and the author.  Erin Hunter is actually not one but four people.  They all love bears and cats and wrote the Warriors series.

I would recommend “Seekers #3: SmokeMountain” to people who like books about animals and bears in particular.  This adventure story was packed full of suspense and action and once you get your hands on it you won’t want to put it down.  There is a fourth book coming out and I can’t wait to read it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.