Mary Engelbreit’s Nursery Tales: A Treasury of Children’s Classics
Mary Engelbreit
HarperCollins Publishers (2008)
ISBN 9780060731687
Reviewed by Cayden (age 4) and Max (age 2) Aures and Mom for Reader                                Views (9/08)

“Mary Engelbreit’s Nursery Tales: A Treasury of Children’s Classics” is a collection of twelve popular nursery tales.  Included in this book are, “Goldilocks and the Three Bears,” “The Three Little Pigs,” “Puss in Boots,” “Little Red Riding Hood,” “The Emperor’s New Clothes,” “Hansel and Gretel,” “The City Mouse and the Country Mouse,” “Jack and the Beanstalk,” “The Gingerbread Boy,” “The Elves and the Shoemaker,” “The Little Red Hen,” and “The Ugly Duckling.”

Cayden:  “I like ‘Little Red Riding Hood.’  This story was on a show I watched once!”

Cayden:  “Is a cloak like a jacket?”

Max:  “Wolf! Grrrrrr!”

Cayden:  “Yes, she better watch out!  The wolf is going to trick her!”

Cayden:  “Doesn’t she know that is the wolf and not her grandma?  Look at it, it has fur and her grandma doesn’t have fur!  It is going to eat her!”

Max:  “Teeth!  Eat her!  Grrrrr!”

Cayden:  “That is good that that man saved them!  How did they get out of the wolf’s belly though?”

Cayden:  “This book had good pictures.  My favorite was the one showing the wolf’s teeth!  The other stories look good too!  When can we read them?”

Parent’s comments:
The review copy that we received was a sampling of the book, one full story (“Little Red Riding Hood”), and an illustration from each of the other tales.  From the story that we were provided, this collection looks to be a great one!  My children wanted to read “Little Red Riding Hood” three times in a row.  They loved looking at the wonderful Mary Engelbreit illustrations which were bright and engaging and definitely added to the classic nursery tales.

No responses yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search for a book by category: