“Lone Wolf: The Oldenglen Chronicles Volume 2” by Robin Mason

“Lone Wolf: The Oldenglen Chronicles Volume 2” by Robin Mason 150 150 Reader Views Kids


Robin Mason
Tricklewood Press (2016)
ISBN 9780994837127
Reviewed by Evan Weldon (age 14) for Reader Views (11/2016)

“Lone Wolf” by Robin Mason is about twelve-year-old Jackson, “Jax” to most, and his best friend Sarah. In the previous book, Jax and Sarah were granted the ability to speak with animals and, along with the help of their animal friends, successfully fought off an attempt to cut down the forests of Oldenglen. Now in the school year, Jax is faced with a new threat, high school bully, Noah. After Jax inadvertently embarrasses Noah in front of the entire school, Noah makes it his personal goal to make Jax suffer. After a few attempts at revenge, Noah and a group of his friends known as the “pack” set up a campsite behind Jax’s house in the forest of Oldenglen. There they hope to attack Jax the next time he enters the woods. Will Jax and Sarah be able to drive this group of kids off without Jax getting hurt or accidently betraying the secrets of the glen?

My favorite character is Jax, who was always fighting to keep his friends safe above all else. Throughout the book, he proved that he was a loyal friend to both the humans and the animals of the glen. All of the characters were unique and well developed, making the story fun and easy to follow. Although talking animals are normally hard to relate to, Robin Mason makes them interesting and fun.

I would recommend “Lone Wolf” by Robin Mason for people who like fiction and nature. It was engaging and came with a powerful message about how important it is to preserve nature. I couldn’t put this book down until I finished it, and I’m very hopeful that there will be more books in the series!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.